The leading voice for excellence in public finance
The leading voice for excellence in public finance

Thought Leadership Thursday

NAST’s 2020 Award Winners & 2021 Leadership Team

Shaun Snyder

Thought Leadership Thursday Article

NAST's 2020 Award Winners & 2021 Leadership Team
September 17, 2020
Executive Director
Dear Colleagues,

Two days ago, we hosted our Annual Business & Membership meeting. While the setting was quite different – virtual, in lieu of our previously planned Annual Conference in San Diego – it was wonderful to gather together as always.

Given how active our members and our Association have been this year, our agenda was particularly packed. In addition to an address from our President, Treasurer Goldberg, we heard reports from NAST leadership, committees, and networks, and the recipients of our Financial Wellness grants were announced. Lastly, the 2020 NAST award winners were recognized, and the 2021 leadership team was officially elected and announced.

I am excited to welcome our 2021 leadership team:

  • President: Indiana Treasurer of State Kelly Mitchell
  • Senior Vice President: Connecticut State Treasurer Shawn Wooden
  • Secretary-Treasurer: South Dakota State Treasurer Josh Haeder
  • Past President: Massachusetts State Treasurer and Receiver General Deborah B. Goldberg
  • Eastern Region Vice President: Maine State Treasurer Henry Beck (re-elected)
  • Midwestern Region Vice President: Wisconsin State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski
  • Southern Region Vice President: Arkansas State Treasurer Dennis Milligan (re-elected)
  • Western Region Vice President: Nevada State Treasurer Zach Conine


And I would like to congratulate all 2020 NAST award recipients, who are each incredibly deserving and were selected by their colleagues for these distinguished awards:

  • Jessie M. Unruh Award: NAST President and Massachusetts State Treasurer & Receiver General Deborah B. Goldberg
  • Harlan Boyles/Edward T. Alter Distinguished Service Award: Utah State Treasurer David Damschen
  • Lucille Maurer Award: Mary Ellen Withrow, former Ohio State Treasurer and United States Treasurer
  • Corporate Affiliate Award: Mary Anne Busse (Great Disclosure) & Michael Nevins (JP Morgan Chase)

Each and every one of our members plays an important role in our Association at large, and this meeting is always a strong reminder of that fact. Thank you for all that you do for NAST and for your communities, and I look forward to continuing to work together.


Shaun Snyder
NAST Executive Director

NAST Thought Leader Thursday banner