The leading voice for excellence in public finance

Conferences & Education

2021 Legislative Conference

Conference Information  

Feburary 22 - 25, 2021

In light of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, NAST will hold a week-long virtual experience for members to engage with federal policymakers and thought leaders. We will also include a number of virtual networking opportunities to allow members to engage with their colleagues from across the country. The event will run from Monday, February 22, through Thursday, February 25, and will be free to all NAST and Affiliate Network members.

WHAT: NAST Virtual Legislative Conference

WHEN: February 22 – February 25

WHERE: A Computer Near You

PRICE: Free to NAST and Affiliate Members. Registration required. 

Schedule at a Glance

Registered NAST members will have free access to all four days of programming. Each day of the conference will concentrate on separate issues based on NAST’s legislative priorities. All attendees are encouraged to log in for Day One, which will focus on general NAST legislative priorities and a Washington outlook. For Days Two-Four, attendees will log in to the programming depending on specific interests and duties. Registered attendees will receive an email prior to the conference with registration links for each session.

Below is a draft agenda for the conference — details subject to change. 

Monday, February 22 — Day One

“New Year, New Congress and New Administration”

Opening General Session
12:00pm – 1:30pm ET 11:00am – 12:30pm CT /  10:00am – 11:30am MT 9:00am – 10:30am PT
Logo Sponsors: AKF Consulting, PFM, TD Bank, U.S. Bank and Verus Analytics

Incoming NAST Leadership will kickoff the conference with keynotes and discussions with federal decision makers on what’s in store for 2021, particularly in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Moderator:
Treasurer Kelly Mitchell (IN), NAST President

Speakers::
General John R. Allen, President at The Brookings Institution 
Heather Boushey, Member, White House Council of Economic Advisers (CEA)

Welcoming the New Congress: “What’s in Store for the 117th?”
2:00pm – 3:00pm ET / 1:00pm – 2:00pm CT / 12:00pm – 1:00pm MT / 11:00am – 12:00pm PT
Welcome Sponsor: State Street
Logo Sponsors: AKF Consulting, PFM, RBC Global Asset Management and Verus Analytics

Members will hear from policy experts and federal decision makers about what we can expect out of the new Congress and what issues are rising to the top of the agenda in Washington.

Moderator:
Treasurer Shawn Wooden (CT), NAST Senior Vice President

Speaker:
Neil Bradley, Executive Vice President and Chief Policy Officer, U.S. Chamber of Commerce

Welcome Message:
Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY)

Topical Virtual Networking Event
4:00pm – 5:00pm ET / 3:00pm – 4:00pm CT / 2:00pm – 3:00pm MT / 1:00pm – 2:00pm PT
Background Logo Sponsor: TIAA
Open to all attendees with breakout rooms hosted by NAST Corporate Affiliate Board Members. Check out breakout room topics here.

Tuesday, February 23 — Day Two

“Infrastructure: Funding, Financing and the State-Federal Partnership”

Is 2021 the Year for Infrastructure?
12:00pm – 1:00pm ET 11:00am – 12:00pm CT /  10:00am – 11:00am MT 9:00am – 10:00am PT
Logo Sponsors: AKF Consulting, PFM, U.S. Bank and Verus Analytics
A panel of infrastructure policy experts will examine the state of discussions on infrastructure and will weigh in on whether or not 2021 will finally be the year of infrastructure.

Moderator
:
Treasurer Zach Conine (NV), Chair of the State Debt Management Network

Speakers:
Ed Mortimer, Vice President of Transportation and Infrastructure, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Greg Regan, President, AFL-CIO Transportation Trades Department

Municipal Bonds: The State and Federal Partnership
2:00pm – 3:00pm ET / 1:00pm – 2:00pm CT / 12:00pm – 1:00pm MT / 11:00am – 12:00pm PT
Logo Sponsors: AKF Consulting, JP Morgan, Key Bank, PFM and Verus Analytics
Speakers will discuss the tax-exemption on municipal bonds and provide updates on various bond proposals in Congress. Topics will include direct subsidy bonds, advance refunding bonds and many more.

Moderator:
Treasurer Rachael Eubanks (MI), Vice Chair of the State Debt Management Network

Speakers:
Patrick Brett, Head of Municipal Debt Capital Markets & Capital Solutions, Citigroup
Emily Brock, Director of the Federal Liaison Center, Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA)

Welcome Message:
Sen. Roger Wicker (R-MS)

SDMN Virtual Networking Event
4:00pm – 5:00pm ET / 3:00pm – 4:00pm CT / 2:00pm – 3:00pm MT / 1:00pm – 2:00pm PT
Background Logo Sponsor: TIAA
Welcome Sponsor: Wells Fargo
Join the State Debt Management Network (SDMN) for a virtual networking event. Participants will get the chance to network with other state debt professionals across topical breakout rooms.

Wednesday, February 24 — Day Three

“Helping Families Save for Stronger Futures”

529 in the 117th: What Can Congress Do to Help Families Save for Education 
12:00pm – 1:00pm ET 11:00am – 12:00pm CT /  10:00am – 11:00am MT 9:00am – 10:00am PT
Welcome Sponsor: Federated Hermes
Logo Sponsors: AKF Consulting, BNY Mellon, PFM, The Vanguard Group and Verus Analytics

Attendees will hear the latest legislative and regulatory updates relating to 529 college savings plans.

Introduction: Treasurer Michael Frerichs (IL), Chair of CSPN
Moderators: Mary Morris, CEO, Virginia 529 Collage Savings Plan
LaKesha Page, Director of College Savings, Tennessee Department of Treasury

Speaker: Congresswoman Abigail Spanberger, (D-VA)

What are the Prospects for ABLE Age Adjustment & the NAST Legislative Agenda for ABLE in 2021
2:00pm – 3:00pm ET / 1:00pm – 2:00pm CT / 12:00pm – 1:00pm MT / 11:00am – 12:00pm PT
Logo Sponsor: AKF Consulting, PFM, U.S. Bank and Verus Analytics
Attendees will hear the latest legislative and regulatory updates relating to ABLE plans.

Moderator:
Treasurer Fiona Ma (CA), Chair of the NAST ABLE Committee

Speakers:
Senator Robert Casey (D-PA)
Congressman Tony Cárdenas (D-CA)

Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers


CSPN & ABLE Virtual Networking Event

4:00pm – 5:00pm ET / 3:00pm – 4:00pm CT / 2:00pm – 3:00pm MT / 1:00pm – 2:00pm PT
Background Logo Sponsor: TIAA
Join the College Savings Plan Network (CSPN) and NAST ABLE Committee for a virtual networking event. Participants will get the chance to network with other state professionals across topical breakout rooms. 

Thursday, February 25 — Day Four

“Deeper Dive into 2021”

NAST Legislative Agenda Updates
12:00pm – 1:00pm ET / 11:00am – 12:00pm CT / 10:00am – 11:00am MT / 9:00am – 10:00am PT
Welcome Sponsor: Kelmar Associates
Logo Sponsors: AKF Consulting, PFM and Verus Analytics
Attendees will hear the latest legislative and regulatory updates relating to NAST priorities, including the latest in the push for the Unclaimed Savings Bond Act (USBA), retirement security, Investment Adviser Alignment Act, and much more. 

Moderator:
Treasurer Scott Fitzpatrick (MO), Chair of the NAST Legislative Committee

Speakers:
Christopher Hatcher, Principal, Williams and Jensen
Susan Hirschmann, CEO and Chairman of the Board, Williams and Jensen
Matt Hoekstra, Principal, Williams and Jensen

NAUPA States Unclaimed Retirement Clearinghouse
2:00pm – 3:00pm ET / 1:00pm – 2:00pm CT / 12:00pm – 1:00pm MT / 11:00am – 12:00pm PT
Logo Sponsors: AKF Consulting, Audit Services, PFM and Verus Analytics
Join the National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators (NAUPA) for a discussion of the States Unclaimed Retirement Clearinghouse project. Participants will receive a primer on the project before getting the chance to ask questions and learn more about this exciting new venture.

Moderator:
Treasurer Dave Young (CO)

Speakers:
Meaghan Aguirre, Unclaimed Property Coordinator, Nebraska State Treasurer’s Office
Kathy Janes, Director of Unclaimed Property, Oklahoma State Treasurer’s Office
Dennis Johnston, Administrator, Utah State Treasurer’s Office
Allen Mayer, Chief of Staff, Illinois State Treasurer’s Office
John DeMarco, Andrew Harmon, Lynden Lyman & Kate Stevens, Kelmar Associates

NAUPA Virtual Networking Event
4:00pm – 5:00pm ET / 3:00pm – 4:00pm CT / 2:00pm – 3:00pm MT / 1:00pm – 2:00pm PT
Background Logo Sponsor: TIAA
Welcome Sponsor: Verus Analytics LLC, A Kroll Business
Join the National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators (NAUPA) for a virtual networking event. Participants will get the chance to network with other state professionals across topical breakout rooms. 

Conference Sponsors 

NAST would like to thank our 2021 Legislative Conference sponsors: